• Representing Businesses and the Communities in the Greater Bluffton and Greater Okatie Areas!

  • Board of Education approves school calendar for 2019-20 academic year

    • Share:
    February 27, 2019
    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
    Tuesday, February 19, 2019
     
    Board of Education approves school
    calendar for 2019-20 academic year
     
    BEAUFORT – The Beaufort County Board of Education has approved the district’s academic calendar for the 2019-20 school year.
     
    The first day for students will be Monday, August 19, 2019, and the final day of classes will be Tuesday, June 2, 2019.
     
    The 2018-19 calendar includes a two-week winter break, a preference indicated by parents and district employees in online surveys.   
     
    Current state law mandates that no South Carolina public school can begin classes prior to the third Monday in August, which this year is August 19. 
     
    Various staff development days are dispersed throughout the calendar, and three possible weather make-up are included: Monday, Nov. 11; Wednesday, Nov. 27; and Friday, March 13.
                   
    Holiday dates with schools closed for students are Sept. 2 (Labor Day); Nov. 27-29 (Thanksgiving); Dec. 23-Jan. 3, 2020 (winter break); Jan. 20, 2020 (Martin Luther King Jr. Day); April 13-17, 2019 (spring break); and May 25, 2019 (Memorial Day).
     
    Teacher work days are Monday-Friday, August 12-16; Monday, Jan. 6; Friday, Feb. 14; Friday, March 13; and Wednesday-Thursday, June 3-4.
     
    Jim Foster
    Director of Communications
    Beaufort County School District
    843-322-2432 (office)
    843-441-1560 (mobile)
    843-322-2330 (fax)
    jim.foster@beaufort.k12.sc.us
     
    Contact:
    Jim Foster, Director of Communications
    843-441-1560