• Representing Businesses and the Communities in the Greater Bluffton and Greater Okatie Areas!

  • Teacher's of the Year

    • Share:
    June 05, 2018
    Friday, April 20, 2018 / TOY-SOY announcements-2018
    School district’s newest teachers, support staff of the year surprised by visits, announcements
    BEAUFORT – Some very special Beaufort County School District teachers and support staff were surprised with flowers, pep rallies, and breakfasts today as Board of Education members made surprise visits to announce 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year and Support Staff of the Year.
    Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers according to criteria established by the schools, the South Carolina Department of Education and the district’s Teacher Forum.  Teachers honored today will be eligible for District Teacher of the Year honors next fall.
    Support staff honorees are selected by school staff and can include social workers, school nurses, bookkeepers, office managers, teacher assistants, school secretaries and technology and data specialists.  Staff honored today will be eligible for District Support Staff Person of the Year.
    “We’re so proud of our outstanding teachers and support staff because they make a difference in children’s lives each and every day,” said Board Chair Earl Campbell, who joined other Board members in today’s surprise notifications. “The fact that our honorees were chosen by their peers makes these recognitions especially meaningful.”
    The 2018-2019 Beaufort County Teachers of the Year and Support Staff of the Year announced today were:
    School  Teacher of the Year Support Staff of the Year
    Battery Creek High Joel Keown Patricia Bussey
    Beaufort Elementary Jonnie Holt Torri McCullough
    Beaufort High Susan Mitchell Tracy Lawton
    Beaufort Middle Kelly Hall Mary Winburn
    Beaufort-Jasper ACE Aretha Bright Twonna Worley
    Bluffton Elementary, ECC Valerie Seldes Kylie Eccles
    Bluffton High Brittany Carter Lori Martz
    Bluffton Middle*    
    Broad River Elementary Lakeisha Mcmillon Regina Webster
    Coosa Elementary Cindy Landa Melissa Harmon
    H. E. McCracken Middle Karen McKenzie Ina Rollins
    Hilton Head ECC Amy Orr Aldeci Long
    Hilton Head Elementary (IB) Theresa Hamby Melina Magazzu
    Hilton Head Island Creative Arts, Daufuskie Island Cora Lugo Anthony “Tony” Grant
    Hilton Head Island High Edi Philips Jill Pongallo
    Hilton Head Island Middle Patricia Drane Lewanda Bush
    Joseph Shanklin Elementary Vikki Deloach Phillip Young
    Islands Academy Raven Polk Carolyn Brown
    Lady’s Island Elementary Ashley Walker Kristyn Alston
    Lady’s Island Middle Kelsey Lopez Cori Talbert
    May River High
    M.C. Riley Elementary, ECC
    Elizabeth Patterson
    Melissa Cahill
    Keisha Glover
    Maria “Pilar” Renteria-Higuera
    Mossy Oaks Elementary Lesley Perry Mary Weber
    Okatie Elementary Emily “Nikki” Davis Siobhan McCann
    Pritchardville Elementary Kristen Parson Julie Houchin
    Port Royal Elementary Shelley Krebs Timothy Kelly
    Red Cedar Elementary Emily Brayshaw Theresa Ball
    River Ridge Academy*    
    Robert Smalls Intl. Academy Jaqueline Lawton Mary Dorsey
    St. Helena Elementary, EL Angela Palmerio Marcia Bennett
    Whale Branch E.C. High Dr. Pretel “Trina” Simmons-Hill Sharmona Rivers
    Whale Branch El., Davis ECC Christina Davis Shonda Royals
    Whale Branch Middle Tamekia Ford Gail Pusha
    Adult Education
    Transportation Department
    Patricia Spivey Jenifer Lewis
    Tori Mitchell
    * These schools’ honorees will be announced next week.
    Jim Foster
    Director of Communications
    (843) 322-2432 / jim.foster@beaufort.k12.sc.us